Home > trends > Private Equity’s gentle side?

Private Equity’s gentle side?

I apologize upfront: This doesn’t really have to do anything with tech, or consulting, or hacks. But I couldn’t help but weep when I read this article about how PE is now ripping off people in the final stages of death. The whole article is well written, but the parts that jumped out at me included:

  • ~50% of all Americans die in hospice care
  • For profit providers of hospices made up 30% in 2000. Now they make up more than 70%, and between 2011 and 2019 the numbers owned by PE tripled.
  • A medical background is not required to enter into the hospice business
  • The margins of for profit providers are 3x that of their non-profit counterparts
  • 70% of the largest hospices in the US have been sued at least once
  • In LA county alone, there are more than a 1000 hospices, 90% of them for-profit

I’m sure I’m missing something obvious. But such human greed at the expense of the most vulnerable is just awful.

Categories: trends Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment