Home > books, humor > Wonderful book on lost words

Wonderful book on lost words

I know I’m not supposed to write about anything but tech, consulting and trends, but I would be negligent if I didn’t let people know about this wonderful little book on lost words. Each chapter is in effect a part of the day from morning to night, so it reads a bit like a story. I will not be able to justice to the wit and the breath of the topics covered, but perhaps a few tidbits to whet your appetite.

  • Apparently constulting means to be stupid together. Hmm. Interesting!
  • Ultracrepidarianism is “giving opinions on subjects that you know nothing about”. Were they describing senior partners?
  • Ergophobia is the morbid fear of returning to work. I get this every Sunday.
  • Apparently a “meeting without coffee” is one where one will get a dressing down
  • Perendinate is apparently to put off work till the day after tomorrow. We should say this more, since it’s more accurate than procrastinate.

Highly recommended. Warning — may be addictive and you may not be able to put it down.

Categories: books, humor Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment